Titia de Lange PhD

Recipient of the Canada Gairdner International Award, 2014
"For her discovery of the mechanisms by which mammalian telomeres are protected from deleterious DNA repair and damage responses"

Leon Hess Professor
Director, Anderson Center for Cancer Research
Rockefeller University

Titia de Lange received training in biochemistry at the University of Amsterdam and the Dutch Cancer Institute. As part of her undergraduate training, she worked on globin gene expression with Richard Flavell at the NIMR in Mill Hill before joining Piet Borst in 1981 at the Dutch Cancer Institute as a graduate student. In 1985, she obtained her PhD (cum laude) and joined Harold Varmus at UCSF for postdoctoral studies. With Varmus, she isolated human telomeric DNA and was the first to show that tumor telomeres shorten. In 1990, she was appointed as Assistant Professor at the Rockefeller University where she was promoted to Professor in 1997. She currently is the Leon Hess Professor, an American Cancer Society Research Professor, and the Director of the Anderson Cancer Center at the Rockefeller University. De Lange is a (foreign) member of EMBO, the US National Academy of Science, the Dutch Royal Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Science, the American Association for Advancement of Science, the American Society for Microbiology, the New York Academy of Science, and the Institute of Medicine. De Lange was awarded the inaugural Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research, the Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center Prize, the AACR’s Charlotte Friend and G.H.A. Clowes Awards, the Vilcek Prize, the Vanderbilt Prize, the Dr. H.P. Heineken Prize, and the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences. She holds an honorary degree from the University of Utrecht. De Lange has served on the scientific advisory boards of many US and European academic institutions, including MSKCC, CSHL, the MIT Cancer Center, the IMP in Vienna, the CRUK/LRI in London, and the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research. De Lange also serves on several award committees, including the Lasker Jury, the Vilcek Prize selection committee, and the Pearl Meister Greengard Prize committee.