The Awards

Seven Canada Gairdner Awards are given annually in three different areas. Each award is valued at $100,000 CDN.

The Canada Gairdner International Awards (5)
These awards are given to biomedical scientists who have made original contributions to medicine resulting in increased understanding of human biology and disease.

The Canada Gairdner Global Health Award (1)
This award is given to a scientist whose advances have (or will potentially have) a significant impact on health outcomes in the developing world.

The Canada Gairdner Wightman Award (1)
This award is given to a Canadian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in medicine and medical science consistent with the purpose of the Foundation.

Fighting disease is one of the longest, toughest battles in the world.  But the rewards of scientific breakthroughs are great – often revolutionary – leading to diagnosis, treatment and cure. The Canada Gairdner Awards celebrate and reward the scientists who make these discoveries.

Great research has no borders. The Gairdners …Canada’s only major international scientific prize, inspire medical research, present and future.  They are ours, but they belong to the world.

Globe and Mail, Editorial October 2009